RSS Feed

Afternoon delight!

Don’t know if anybody else has this problem but I am horrible and I mean horrible about buying foods especially meats and then letting them go bad! I always get so angry with myself for basically throwing money into the thrash can. So I started a new thing for us and it has worked pretty well…I come home from the store and immediately put all meat into the freezer. This way it wont go back as quick. And it has been working because I don’t feel rushed, as in days, to use it!

so last night I am trying to brainstorm as to what to make. And this is the part I do hate about the freezing..having to wait on defrost! I decided on pork chops and immediately went to Pinterest to find something that looked yummy. Sidenote: for those who haven’t gotten onto Pinterest..it is a MUST. If you get addicted to things easily..DON’T. It seriously has about anything and everything you could want and not just food. It is an invite only so you would have to find someone to let you in. See secret society! That right there should have been my first clue of how addicting it would be!!

Anywhooo so I start looking and didn’t find anything that struck my fancy or anything I had all the ingredients for. I googled some pork chop recipes and I found at allrecipes.com an applesauce recipe. It had called for some onion soup mix, which I of course didn’t have so I started reading some of the comments and made up my own recipe..so here it goes:
Pre-Set oven to 375 degrees
I used 7-8 big pork chops but it didn’t call for that much
as they are browning on both sides in a skillet, I mixed together in a bowl a bit of pepper, cinnamon, ginger, and Mrs. Dash Table blend (a definite must if you are trying to watch your sodium intake!) Put in about 4 tablespoons of EVOO and a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Mixed that all together. Once the pork was about half way done I put on this topping and let it brown the rest of the way. I did empty out any juices or blood before putting in the toppings. As they were finishing browning I mixed together in a different bowl about 4 tablespoons of brown sugar, more cinnamon, ginger, and this is where the applesauce comes in..the recipe called for 1 cup I used probably more like 1.5 or 2 cups. Also throw in a couple scoops of butter. Mix together and get out a 9×13 pan to cook in. As the pork chops are done browning, place them in the dish and I poured on them the leftover “stuff” from the skillet. Only because I had already emptied out all the nasty things before. After you have them layered or laying like you want pour over the applesauce mixture..cook at 375 for 30ish minutes and done! Temp of the meat should be between 170-180! We had rice and stir fried green peppers and onions with Mrs Dash and spray butter on them.

It was a great and easy dinner!
enjoy!
J

About klauskreations

Photographer mom to three kids and a wife to a work-a-holic husband! Trying to find my footing in this crazy place we call life. Until then I guess I will keep trying... I can't say you will learn anything life changing here but I hope you will enjoy and stay awhile :)

Leave a Reply

